Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Glenn Hegar

skip navigation
WebFile logo

Franchise Tax
Learn How to Get Started

Before You Begin:

Checkmark You will need to have the Texas taxpayer ID number(s), WebFile number(s) (printed on correspondence you received via mail from the Comptroller's office) and know the SIC and NAICS codes for your business.

CheckmarkYou will need to know the forms you need to file before beginning. If you do not know what forms to file, see Which Forms Should I File?

CheckmarkGather all of the business information you need to complete the form in advance (including information for ALL related entities if filing a Combined and/or Tiered report).

Important: If you start the form and need to search for information, you may lose the data you already entered when the system times out after 30 minutes of inactivity. See the Texas Franchise Tax Information and Report Instructions (PDF, 247KB) or Franchise FAQs for detailed form instructions.

CheckmarkNo signature is required. Electronic submission is considered a signed document. If you used WebFile, please do not sign and mail the printed copy.

Step 1: Select "First-time User? Sign up"

Select "First-time user? Sign up" to create your own unique account.

Step 2: Create a profile

This will include a unique user ID, email address, your name, telephone number, password and a security question and answer you can remember in the future.

Step 3: From the Menu

  • Select the menu item to electronically file and/or pay taxes/fees.
  • Enter the 11-digit taxpayer number of the tax account you wish to access.
  • Select Franchise tax.
  • Enter the WebFile number for that account.

What is my WebFile number and where do I find it?

Your WebFile number is your “access code” to WebFile issued by the Comptroller’s office. It is printed in the upper right corner of the notification letter we mail to each taxable entity about six weeks before the due date of the next report. We also print the WebFile number in the top left corner of each franchise tax delinquent notice. The number begins with the letters XT followed by six numbers.

If you do not have your WebFile number, you can contact us at 1-800-442-3453 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. This automated system can provide a WebFile number if you can provide confidential information from a previously filed report. You can request a duplicate report via this automated system if you cannot provide the confidential information.

Continue to Login

Required Plug-ins

In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome and Apple Safari.