- CADs Handle 15 Million Properties for About 3,600 Taxing Units
- Rylander Reports
- Annual Property Tax Conference Program
- Joint Conference Pre-Registration Form
- PTD Staff Clarifies Fencing Cost Method and Adjustments
- Penalty and Interest Charges for Delinquent Tax Collections
- Penalty and Interest Rate Schedule - 1999/2000
- Insert: 1999 Texas Property Tax Law Changes
Penalty and Interest Charges for Delinquent Tax Collections
The updated schedule below shows the penalty and interest (P&I) rates used to calculate the total amount due on delinquent tax bills. The months included are October 1999 to September 2000. These rates were governed by Article 7336 (repealed), Texas Revised Civil Statutes, and now by Section 33.01, Property Tax Code. The last schedule published was in the August 1998 STATEMENT.
Section 33.05, Property Tax Code, provides that real property taxes delinquent more than 20 years and personal property taxes delinquent more than 10 years are removed from the tax rolls, unless litigation is pending on those taxes.
The schedule does not include any additional penalty for attorney fees. The rates in this schedule do not apply to taxes paid for omitted property, for split payment, for late mailed tax bills, for installment payments, or for homesteads that had an over-65 tax deferral. These rates also do not apply to delinquent taxes in which a successful tax rate rollback election took place because the normal delinquency date does not apply.
To use this schedule, find the month in which the tax is being paid. Go to the tax year in that column for which a delinquent tax was assessed. Multiply the corresponding P&I percentage amount times the tax amount to determine the amount of P&I on the base tax.
Example:A 1992 tax of $400 is delinquent. If it is paid in November 1999, the P&I will be:
$ 400 (tax owed)
x .94 (P&I percentage rate for 1992 tax that is paid in November 1999)
$ 376 (P&I)
$ 400 + $ 376 = $ 776 (amount to pay in November 1999, excluding attorney fees)