Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Glenn Hegar

skip navigation

Electronic Reporting and Paying

Use the Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) software to transmit your tax with an option to include payment information.
Go to EDI details.

Log in to Pay Log in to Pay

Use WebFile to electronically submit payment only.

See filing requirements.

New to WebFile:

Motor Fuel Transporters

Sign up to receive email updates when this page changes.

A sole owner, partnership, corporation, or other organization transporting gasoline or diesel fuel in this state as a motor fuel transporter by means of truck, railroad tank car or marine vessel outside the bulk transfer/terminal system is required to be licensed with the Comptroller's Office.
(Sec. 162.001)

A person transporting their own fuel in their own cargo tanks for their own use and not for resale is not required to obtain a motor fuel transporter license.

$50 Late Filing Penalty

The law imposes a $50 late filing penalty on every report filed after the due date, even if no tax was due for the period or the report was eventually filed.

Additional Resources

Comma delimited flat file of Motor Fuel Transporters in Zip format

Rate Details and Other Information


An informational report each quarter showing their interstate and intrastate transportation of gasoline and diesel fuel during the previous quarter.
(Sec. 162.121 and Sec. 162.222)

Due Date

Motor fuel transporters - quarterly: 25th day of the month following the end of the calendar quarter.
(Sec. 162.114 and Sec. 162.215)

Electronic Reporting

Yes - See left column.

Filing Requirements

If in the preceding fiscal year, you paid:

  • less than $10,000 – use any available reporting and payment methods available for this tax or fee. While electronic filing is not required, this option is encouraged.
  • $10,000 or more – use the guidelines below to determine your specific reporting and payment requirements.

The state fiscal year begins September 1 and ends August 31.

Amount Reported and Paid in Preceding Fiscal Year $10,000 - $49,999 $50,000 - $99,999 $100,000 or more
Reporting Method(s)

(Any one of the methods listed can be used.)

Payment Method(s)

(Any one of the methods listed can be used.)

Required Plug-ins

In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome and Apple Safari.