Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Glenn Hegar

skip navigation

Electronic Filing

Log in to Report or Pay Log in to
Report or Pay

Use WebFile to electronically file a tax report and submit payment (by credit card, electronic check or via TEXNET).

IFTA Taxpayers have the option to use Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) to transmit their return and payment.

See filing requirements.

New to WebFile:

Learn how to get started.

International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA)

Sign up to receive email updates when this page changes.

IFTA is an agreement that provides for the consolidated reporting of motor fuels (i.e., Gasoline, Diesel Fuel, Liquefied Gas, Compressed Natural Gas, Liquefied Natural Gas) taxes for qualifying commercial motor vehicles traveling in more than one state or province of Canada. IFTA is not a separate tax or fee.

WebFile is now available for IFTA!

IFTA Fuel Tax Report Forms

All paper reports must be filed using revised report forms 56-101 and 56-102 available on this website. Reports may also be filed online through WebFile or the EDI software.

Rates and Due Date

Tax Rates

Tax rates are set by each of the member jurisdictions. Interstate carriers based in Texas report fuel tax paid in all member jurisdictions.

Interest Rates

The current annual interest rate is 5% and the monthly interest rate is 0.417% (0.00417).

Quarterly Due Date

The IFTA report is due the last day of the month immediately following the close of the quarter being filed. If the due date is a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the next business day is considered the due date.

See information on how to report Biodiesel Fuel on your IFTA quarterly return.

Filing Requirements

If in the preceding fiscal year, you paid:

  • less than $10,000 – use any available reporting and payment methods available for this tax or fee. While electronic filing is not required, this option is encouraged.
  • $10,000 or more – use the guidelines below to determine your specific reporting and payment requirements.

The state fiscal year begins September 1 and ends August 31.

Amount Reported and Paid in Preceding Fiscal Year $10,000 - $49,999 $50,000 - $99,999 $100,000 or more
Reporting Method(s)

(Any one of the methods listed can be used.)

Payment Method(s)

(Any one of the methods listed can be used.)

Required Plug-ins

In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome and Apple Safari.