Thanksgiving Day Holiday Hours

Quick Start for:
WebFile

WebFile Franchise Tax
Electronic Payment Options

TEXNET - State of Texas Financial Network

Texas law requires taxpayers or licensees who paid $10,000 or more in a payment category during the preceding state fiscal year (September 1 through August 31) to submit their franchise tax payments electronically. Additionally, all members of a combined group must pay electronically if any member of the combined group received notice it is mandated to pay electronically.

Taxpayers or licensees who paid a total of $100,000 or more in a payment category during the preceding state fiscal year (September 1 through August 31) are required to submit electronic payments using the TEXNET System. (Taxpayers or licensees who paid more than $10,000 but less than $100,000 can also submit payments electronically through WebEFT or credit card as part of the WebFile report or extension filing. If you are only making a payment and not filing a report or requesting an extension, you will need to use the TEXNET system.)

TEXNET is a payment-only system for all taxes. You can electronically transmit payments through TEXNET via the Internet or telephone if you do not have Web access. TEXNET payment effective dates can be the current date or a future date, up to 30 days in advance of the current date. More information on TEXNET.


Electronic Fund Transfer - WebEFT

WebEFT is a payment option offered as part of the WebFile application when you electronically file your tax report or extension request. Bank information is required for the electronic transfer of funds (ACH Debit) from your financial institution to the State Treasury. The payment effective date can be the current date or 30 days in the future. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or bank holiday, the next bank business day will be the due date. The date and amount should be recorded in your checkbook or savings book.

Texas law requires taxpayers or licensees who paid $10,000 or more in a payment category during the preceding state fiscal year (September 1 through August 31) to submit their franchise tax payments electronically. Taxpayers remitting less than $10,000 can voluntarily use this payment option.

WebEFT is part of WebFile and can be accessed as part of your online report filing. If you only need to make an electronic payment (and are not filing a report or extension), you will need to use the TEXNET system.

The payment effective date is defined as the postmark/receipt date assigned to this payment. WebEFT payments may take several days to clear your bank account.

WebEFT is free. There is no pre-registration or credit card on-line convenience fee.


Credit Cards

Payment by Credit Card is offered for your convenience as part of the WebFile application. The non-refundable Credit Card Portal Processing Fee will be included in the credit card transaction. We accept American Express, MasterCard and Discover Credit Cards. If you pay by credit card, your payment effective date is the current date.

Information needed to complete the transaction for any of the above cards is:

  • Customer Name
  • Billing Address
  • Billing City
  • State
  • ZIP/Postal Code
  • Country
  • Phone Number
  • Credit Card Type
  • Credit Card Number
  • Credit Card Expiration Date
  • Name on Credit Card
  • Verification Code

Credit Card Portal Processing Fee (Non-Refundable)

AMOUNT PAID FEE
up to $100.00 $1
$100.01 or more 2.25% of the amount paid plus a $0.25 processing fee

The Credit Card Portal Processing Fee is separate from the state taxes. It offsets the cost of the credit card transaction and is non-refundable.

Credit card payments can be made through WebFile.

Required Plug-ins