Quick Start for:

Texas Works: Training and Education for All Texans

Career, Technical and Work Force Education in Texas

Exhibit 3-6

Texas Community College Taxing Districts

This is a map of Texas community college taxing districts. The 1995 Texas Legislature’s Senate Bill 390 established community college service areas and allocated the majority of counties to 50 existing community college taxing districts.  Many of the state’s community colleges serve areas of the state that fall outside of their taxing district. For example, the Austin Community College service area extends beyond its taxing district. Students living within the taxing district pay less tuition than those living outside of the taxing district. Residents of surrounding areas may vote to be annexed into the community college’s taxing jurisdiction.

The community college taxing districts are:

  1. Alamo Community College
  2. Alvin Community College
  3. Amarillo College
  4. Angelina College
  5. Austin Community College
  6. BIinn College
  7. Brazosport College
  8. Central Texas College
  9. Cisco Junior College
  10. Clarendon College
  11. Coastal Bend College
  12. College of the Mainland
  13. Collin County Community College
  14. Dallas County Community College
  15. Del Mar College
  16. El Paso Community College
  17. Frank Phillips College (Borger Junior College District)
  18. Galveston College
  19. Grayson County College
  20. Hill College
  21. Houston Community College
  22. Howard County Junior College
  23. Kilgore College
  24. Laredo Community College
  25. Lee College
  26. Lone Star Community College
  27. McLennan Community College
  28. Midland College
  29. Navarro College
  30. North Central Texas College
  31. Northeast Texas Community College
  32. Odessa College
  33. Panola College
  34. Paris Junior College
  35. Ranger College
  36. San Jacinto College
  37. South Plains College
  38. South Texas Community College
  39. Southwest Texas Junior College
  40. Tarrant County Junior College
  41. Temple Junior College
  42. Texarkana College
  43. Texas Southmost College
  44. Trinity Valley Community College
  45. Tyler Junior College
  46. Vernon Regional Junior College
  47. Victoria College
  48. Weatherford College
  49. Western Texas College
  50. Wharton County Junior College

For more information on this exhibit, please contact the Comptroller’s Data Services Division at 512-463-4900 or at P.O. Box 13528, Austin, Texas 78711-3528.

Source: Texas Association of Community Colleges.

Return to Report

Required Plug-ins