Christmas and New Year’s Holiday Hours

Quick Start for:


Fifteen of the region’s 19 counties produce oil and gas. In 2008, they produced 5.2 million barrels of oil, 4.4 billion cubic feet of casinghead gas (a mixture of unrefined gases that can include methane, butane and propane), 232 billion cubic feet of natural gas (gas well gas) and 2.7 million barrels of condensate (natural gas liquids). Atascosa, Calhoun, DeWitt, Guadalupe and Jackson counties led the region in energy production (Exhibit 35).39

The Texas Railroad Commission (RRC) is the state’s oil and gas regulatory agency. RRC has 12 district offices; the northwestern section of the Alamo region is in RRC district 1, while its southeastern section is in RRC District 2.

Exhibit 35

Alamo Region, Oil and Gas Production, 1993-2008

See Text view.

Source: Raliroad Commission of Texas.

View oil and gas production in table format.

Fifteen of the region’s 19 counties produce oil and gas.

Bexar and Medina counties once produced lignite coal along and south of the Balcones Fault in “trends,” or subsurface formations, known as the Claiborne and Jackson Group.40 Most coal produced in Texas is consumed on site to provide electricity (in what are called “mine mouth” operations). Today, Atascosa County is the region’s only county producing coal, according to the U.S. Energy Information Administration. In 2007, one surface mine produced 3.1 million short tons.41 (A short ton is 2,000 pounds.)


Natural gas is the fuel of choice for most of the Alamo region’s electricity generation facilities built since 1995. The region has 13 electricity generation plants with a combined generating capacity of 4,569 megawatts (MW) operating or under construction – six in Bexar County, two in Calhoun County, one in Frio County, two in Guadalupe County and two in Victoria County. Nine of these plants use natural gas as a fuel; two use coal; one uses landfill gas, a renewable resource; and one, an industrial facility, uses petroleum coke.42

The entire Alamo region lies within the boundaries of the Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT), the electric grid system that manages the electricity needs of 22 million Texans. ERCOT’s grid covers 75 percent of the state’s land area and carries 85 percent of its electric load.43

According to ERCOT, in summer 2009 the region had a total generation capacity of 7,338 MW. ERCOT estimates that capacity will rise to 8,483 MW by 2011, as new plants open.44

Perhaps reflecting the Alamo region’s rural past, electrical providers in the area include eight municipally owned utilities and 11 electric cooperatives (Exhibit 36).45

Exhibit 36

Alamo Region, Municipally Owned Utilities and Member-Owned Cooperatives

Municipally Owned Utilities
Entity Name Counties in Service Area
City Public Service Bexar
Cuero Electric Utility DeWitt
Fredericksburg Electric Utility Gillespie
Gonzales Electric System Gonzales
Hondo Electric System Medina
Kerrville Public Utility Board Kerr
New Braunfels Utilities Comal
Seguin Electric System Guadalupe
Member-Owned Cooperatives
Entity Name Counties in Service Area
Bandera Electric Cooperative Bandera, Bexar, Kendall, Kerr, Medina, Real, Uvalde
Bluebonnet Electric Cooperative Austin, Bastrop, Burleson, Caldwell, Colorado, Fayette, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Hays, Lee, Milam, Travis, Washington, Williamson
Central Texas Electric Cooperative Blanco, Gillespie, Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, Llano, Mason, McCulloch, Menard, Real, San Saba
Fayette Electric Cooperative Austin, Bastrop, Colorado, Fayette, Lavaca, Lee, Washington
Guadalupe Valley Electric Cooperative Bexar, Caldwell, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Goliad, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Jackson, Karnes, Lavaca, Victoria, Wilson
Jackson Electric Cooperative Brazoria, Calhoun, Jackson, Lavaca, Matagorda
Karnes Electric Cooperative Atascosa, Bee, Bexar, DeWitt, Frio, Goliad, Karnes, LaSalle, Live Oak, McMullen, Medina, Wilson
Medina Electric Cooperative Atascosa, Brooks, Dimmitt, Duval, Edwards, Frio, Jim Hogg, Kinney, LaSalle, McMullen, Medina, Real, Starr, Uvalde, Webb, Zapata, Zavala
Pedernales Electric Cooperative Bell, Bexar, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Comal, Edwards, Gillespie, Guadalupe, Hays, Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, Kinney, Lampasas, Llano, Mason, Menard, Real, San Saba, Schleicher, Sutton, Travis, Williamson
San Patricio Electric Cooperative Aransas, Bee, Goliad, Jim Wells, Live Oak, McMullen, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio
Victoria Electric Cooperative Calhoun, DeWitt, Goliad, Jackson, Refugio, Victoria

Public Utility Commission of Texas, Texas Electric Cooperatives.


All links were valid at the time of publication. Changes to web sites not maintained by the office of the Texas Comptroller may not be reflected in the links below.

Required Plug-ins