Quick Start for:

Skip to Report

Exhibit 27-7

The North American Electric Reliability Corporation Regions

There are eight different reliability councils that are responsible for electric reliability standards in North America. Most regional reliability councils serve multiple states, and some reach into Canada and Mexico as well. The Western Electric Coordinating Council (WECC) serves the western third of the U.S., Baja California and western Canada. The Midwest Reliability Organization (MRO) serves the upper Midwest and central Canada. The Northeast Power Coordinating Council (NPCC) serves New England and eastern Canada. The Reliability First Corporation (RFC) serves the central eastern U.S. from New Jersey to Michigan. The Southwest Power Pool (SPP) serves all of Kansas and portions of Arkansas, Oklahoma, Texas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Missouri and Mississippi. The Southeastern Reliability Council (SERC) serves the southeastern U.S. including Southeast Texas. The Florida Reliability Coordinating Council (FRCC) serves all of Florida except the western Florida Panhandle. The Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT) serves the most of Texas, areas in Texas not served by ERCOT include the western part of the state near El Paso, the northern Panhandle the Northeast corner of the state near Texarkana and the Southeast corner of the state near Beaumont. Four councils operate in Texas—ERCOT, SERC, SPP and WECC.

For more information on this exhibit, please contact the Comptroller’s Data Services Division at 512-463-4900 or at P.O. Box 13528, Austin, Texas 78711-3528.

Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration.

Return to the Report

Required Plug-ins