Skip to content
Quick Start for:

Task Force Members

Name Position/Organization
Danielle Shaw American Camping Association - Texoma Section
Doug Rogers Executive Director, Association of Texas Professional Educators
Kathy Ragsdale Camping Association for Mutual Progress (CAMP)
Melinda Sparks Community Member
The Honorable Libba Massey Board Vice President, Highland Park Independent School District
Dr. Angela Valenzuela Education Chair, LULAC of Texas
Tina Bruno Texans for a Traditional School Year
Dr. Yolanda Rey Executive Director, Texas Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development
Tracy Weinberg Associate Director, Texas Association for the Gifted and Talented
Reynaldo "Rey" Garcia, Ph.D. Executive Director, Texas Association of Community Colleges
Linda Silva Secretary, Texas Association of Partners in Education
Bill Grusendorf Executive Director, Texas Association of Rural Schools
Amy Beneski Assistant Executive Director, Governmental Relations, Texas Association of School Administrators
Kathy Golson Assistant Director of Governmental Relations, Texas Association of School Boards
Tom Leyden Director of Middle Level School Services, Texas Association of Secondary School Principals
John Stevens Executive Director, Texas Business and Education Coalition
Jeri Stone Executive Director/General Counsel, Texas Classroom Teachers Association
Harley Eckhart Associate Executive Director, Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association
John Cole President, Texas Federation of Teachers
Floyd Ivy President, Texas Licensed Child Care Association
Mary Capello, J.D. Chief Executive Officer, Texas Migrant Council, Inc.
Craig Tounget Executive Director, Texas Parent Teacher Association
Judy Farmer Executive Director, Texas School Public Relations Association
Dr. Albert Campbell State Secretary, Texas Silver-Haired Legislature
Gary Bledsoe President, Texas State Conference of NAACP Branches
Donna New-Haschke President, Texas State Teachers Association
Luis de la Garza President & CEO, Texen Power Company, LLC
Bonnie Northcutt Director of Policy, University Interscholastic League
Dr. William H. "Bill" Cunningham, Ph.D. Former Chancellor, University of Texas System

School Start Date Subcommittee Members

Name Position/Organization
Christine (Chris) Ardis Teacher, McAllen High School, Weekly Columnist for the Monitor
Mr. Donnie Cody Assistant Superintendent of Schools, Rio Vista Independent School District
Mr. David Fincher President, Texas Children's Education Group, Inc.
The Honorable Eddie Hopkins Board President, Jasper Independent School District
Meredith Keller District Leadership Team, Hays Consolidated Independent School District
Judy LeUnes Parent, Community Member
Judy Nallella-Williams Parent, Community Member
Nancy Ojeda La Porte Independent School District
Lewis Patton High School Admissions Officer, ATI Career Training Centers