Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Glenn Hegar

skip navigation

Renewing Your Certification

Pursuant to Gov't Codes 2155.078 and 2262.053 and part of acquiring a certification, it is your responsibility to remain in compliance with the required continuing education training hours (CEH's). Renewing your certification can be a cumbersome process due to the years of accumulated required documentation. For this reason, it’s important you view the Certification Renewal-How Does It Work (PDF) presentation and you download the State Certification Renewal (XLS).

Effective April 1, 2016, the Continuing Education Hours (CEH’s) required for renewal has been reduced from 120 to 80 over the five (5) year period with no more than 36 CEHs during any certification year. This new change applies to all active certifications. We recommend you track your CEH's as you take your classes and complete at least 16 CEH's each certification year.

If you were certified after April 1, 2016, please download the NEW 80 CEHs State Certification Renewal Spreadsheet. If you were certified prior to April 1, 2016 you have the option to continue to use the OLD State Certification Renewal Spreadsheet. This is especially important and beneficial as the old spreadsheet contains formulas that will allow you claim up to 45 hours in any one (1) certification year based on the old requirement of 120 CEHs. HOWEVER, keep in mind you will only need to claim 80 CEHs. If your spreadsheet currently reflects 80 or more, you have met the requirement.

You will be required to maintain, track and complete the State Certification Tracking Document (State Certification Renewal) which must be submitted 30 but not more than 60 days prior to your expiration date. In the event you fail to meet the continuing education requirement, your certification will expire and you will be required to retake the training segment, test and apply for certification. If you have additional questions regarding renewing your certification, please contact the professionals in the Training and Certification program at cert.renewal@cpa.texas.gov.

Required Plug-ins

In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome and Apple Safari.

×