Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Glenn Hegar

skip navigation
  • Contact: Lauren Willis
  • Phone: 512-463-4070, Toll-free: 1-800-531-5441 ext. 3-4070

For Immediate Release

skip quote

August 31, 2012

Texas Prepaid College Tuition Enrollment Opens Sept. 1

(AUSTIN) — Parents looking to make their child’s college education more affordable can begin enrolling in the Texas Tuition Promise Fund®, the state’s prepaid college tuition program, on Sept. 1. The enrollment period runs through Feb. 28, 2013.

“This program is a great way to prepay all or part of a child’s undergraduate tuition and fees at Texas public colleges and universities at today’s prices,” said Texas Comptroller Susan Combs. “And we offer flexible payment options to help fit any family’s budget as they save for college.”

Families in the Texas Tuition Promise Fund purchase prepaid “tuition units” that can later be used toward undergraduate tuition and required fees at schools ranging from Texas public community colleges to four-year, in-state universities.  Prices are based on 2012-13 academic year costs for the state’s public colleges.

  • Type I units, priced for tuition and required fees for the most expensive public four-year school in Texas, cost $115.92 per unit.
  • Type II units, based on the weighted average cost of tuition and required fees across all Texas public four-year schools, cost $82.92 per unit.
  • Type III units, priced at the weighted average cost of tuition and required fees across all Texas public two-year schools, cost $21.39 each.

Under the plan, 100 units equal one academic year consisting of 30 semester hours of tuition and required fees at the Texas public school that most closely matches the pricing base. Families can prepay for up to six years (600 Type I units or the equivalent amount of Type II and III units) of undergraduate tuition and required fees.

The plan’s payment options include lump sum payments, installment payments that include 8 percent interest or a pay-as-you go plan that allows parents to gradually add more units when the family budget allows. Payments can be as low as $15 after an account is established by paying a one-time fee of $25 and purchasing at least one unit.

The Texas Tuition Promise Fund is entering its fifth year.  For more information about enrolling in the prepaid college tuition program, including a college cost calculator, go to www.TexasTuitionPromiseFund.com or call (800) 445-GRAD (4723), Option 5.


Go to Facebook Join the discussion and connect with the Texas Comptroller on Facebook for the latest economic news, surveys and more.

Follow us on Twitter! Get quick Comptroller news and information you need to do business in Texas.

Required Plug-ins

In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome and Apple Safari.