Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Glenn Hegar

skip navigation

Contact: Allen Spelce
R.J. DeSilva
(512) 463-4070

News Release from Comptroller Susan Combs

For Immediate Release
February 1, 2010

Enrollment Deadline Nears for Prepaid College Tuition Program

(AUSTIN) — Families have until Feb. 28 to lock in college tuition and required fees at current rates for the state’s public colleges.

“The Texas Tuition Promise Fund helps put higher education within reach for all families,” Texas Comptroller Susan Combs said. “Whether it’s a four-year degree or career training at a community college, saving for college will help our children gain the skills they need for well-paying jobs.”

The state’s pre-paid college tuition program allows families to prepay for undergraduate tuition and required fees. They can prepay for a four-year degree, a two-year degree or for just a few classes or semesters, at prices based on 2009–10 academic year costs for the state’s public colleges:

  • Type I units, priced for tuition and required fees for up to the most expensive public four-year school in Texas, cost $103.40 per unit.
  • Type II units, priced at the weighted average of tuition and required fees across all Texas public four-year schools, cost $71.75 per unit.
  • Type III units, priced at the weighted average cost of tuition and required fees across all Texas public two-year schools, cost $17.78 per unit.

Under the plan, 100 units equal one academic year of tuition and required fees. Families can buy up to six years (600 units) worth of undergraduate education. The plan offers several payment options, including lump-sum payments, pay-as-you go or the installment payment option, which includes an annual interest rate.

While benefits are geared toward Texas public colleges and universities, the plan value can also be used toward the cost of private or out-of-state schools. Unused units can be transferred to another qualified beneficiary or refunded.

After Feb. 28, the Texas Tuition Promise fund will close enrollment until September, when the program will re-open with new contract prices based on college costs for the 2010-11 academic year.

For information about the prepaid tuition program, including a college cost calculator, go to www.TuitionPromise.org or call (800) 445-GRAD (4723), Option 5.


Manage your Comptroller e-mail subscriptions Add Comptroller topics to your subscription or stop subscriptions at anytime. If you have questions or problems with this subscription service, please contact support@govdelivery.com.

Follow us on Twitter! Get quick Comptroller news and information you need to do business in Texas.

Required Plug-ins

In 2015, the Texas Legislature passed House Bill 855, which requires state agencies to publish a list of the three most commonly used Web browsers on their websites. The Texas Comptroller’s most commonly used Web browsers are Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome and Apple Safari.