For Immediate Release
March 27, 2009
Comptroller Susan Combs Reminds Businesses of April 15
Deadline for Filing Property Tax Renditions
(AUSTIN) — Texas Comptroller Susan Combs today reminded Texas businesses to render their property with county appraisal districts by April 15. To render is to list the taxable inventory, furniture and fixtures, machinery and equipment and other property a business owned or managed as of Jan. 1, 2009. Appraisal districts may use the information to set property values.
“Rendition helps county appraisal districts appraise business property fairly and accurately,” Combs said. “If some businesses are not paying their fair share of property tax, it places a greater tax burden on other business owners and homeowners.”
Rendering allows property owners to record their opinion of their property's value and ensures that the appraisal district sends them a notice before changing a value on their property. Owners do not have to render exempt property, such as church property or a farmer’s equipment used for farming.
If more than one appraisal district appraises a property, the property owner should render in each appraisal district office.
Property owners who need more time to file their renditions may file a written request with the chief appraiser on or before April 15 to receive an automatic extension to May 15. The chief appraiser may also grant an additional 15 days after the May 15 deadline if necessary.
Combs also reminded owners whose property was damaged by a storm, flood or fire last year that they may file a special decreased value report that could lower their final tax bills. Property owners have until April 15 to file the decreased value report, which indicates their property's condition on Jan. 1, 2009.
Rendition forms and decreased value report forms are available from the appraisal district or the Comptroller’s office. The rendition forms ask for the property owner’s name and address, general description of property by type or category and the property’s location. For property with an aggregate total of more than $20,000, the property owner also must provide a general estimate of quantity of inventory and the owner’s good faith estimate of the property’s market value. The owner may provide the historical cost when new and the year the property was acquired rather than the good faith estimate.
For more information about rendering property, deadline extensions, penalties and rendition forms, taxpayers may contact their county appraisal district office, e-mail the Comptroller’s Property Tax Assistance Division at firstname.lastname@example.org or call the property tax hotline at (800) 252-9121. The Comptroller’s forms are available on the Web at www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/taxforms/02-forms.html.
Manage your Comptroller e-mail subscriptions Add Comptroller topics to your subscription or stop subscriptions at anytime. If you have questions or problems with this subscription service, please contact email@example.com.
Follow us on Twitter! Get quick Comptroller news and information you need to do business in Texas.